CIM Awards 2022


CIM Awards 2022

03 May 2022

May 3, 2022, Vancouver, British Columbia. The Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum pays special recognition to the many accomplishments, contributions and dedication of CIM’s diverse mining and minerals community.  

After two years, guests were finally able to attend the CIM-Caterpillar Awards Gala in person on May 2, coming together to collectively celebrate the achievements from the industry’s most promising professionals and future leaders at the Vancouver Convention Centre. This year’s gala also recognized award winners from the Canadian Mineral Processors Society. 

Ben Mulroney, best known for his roles as former co-host of Your Morning and host of Canadian Idol, presented this year’s awards. 

The night commenced with a lively performance from Vancouver-based sax artist Karla Sax. Following this, Lumadrome took to the stage to present three custom and dynamic performances consisting of singers, performers, percussionists, LED robots and more. 

Please join us in congratulating the CIM and Canadian Mineral Processors Society award recipients for their unwavering commitment to advancing our industry.  


A.O. Dufresne Exploration Achievement Award
Charles Greig

Barlow Medal for Best Geological Paper
David Heberlein
David Moore
James Logan
Richard Friedman Robert Creaser
Myron Osatenko
Hugh Samson

Bedford Canadian Young Leaders Awards
Curtis Markwart
Emily Jepson
Joao Zanon
Julia Gartley

Distinguished Lecturers
Phillip Mackey
Frank Cheng
Steven Thorpe

Distinguished Service Medal
Michael Cinnamond

District Distinguished Service Award - Western District
Katherine Ray

Diversity and Inclusion
Donna Beneteau

Maurice Tagami
Phillip A. Cancilla
Scott Martin

J.C. Sproule Northern Exploration Award
Mark Rebagliati

John T. Ryan Safety Trophies

Julian Boldy Geological Society Service Award
Christopher Collins

Mel W. Bartley Outstanding Branch Award
CIM Vancouver Branch

Mining Safety Leadership Medal
Shawn Rideout
Stephanie Bleker

Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award
Michael J. Bourassa

Selwyn Blaylock Canadian Mining Excellence Award
Deborah McCombe
Lukas Lundin

Sustainable Development
Skeena Resources 

Towards Sustainable Mining Award

Vale Medal for Meritorious Contributions to Mining
William E. Roscoe


Bill Moore Award
François Lavoie

Ray Macdonald Volunteer Award
François Robichaud

Life time Achievement
Maurice Tagami

Mineral Processor of the Year
Matthew Taylor

New CMP Innovation Award
Janice Zinck