CIM Council


CIM Council

2023-2024 CIM Council Members

Michael Cinnamond



Mike Cinnamond is the senior vice president of finance and chief financial officer of B2Gold Corp. Prior to joining B2Gold in 2013, he was an audit partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP where he was the BC Resources Leader for the mining, forestry and energy and utilities practices.

He has 22 years of experience in the mining industry sector and is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of BC and holds an LL.B. designation from the University of Exeter.

He has been involved with CIM both locally and nationally for almost 20 years. He has served as treasurer, vice chair and ultimately branch chair of CIM’s Vancouver Branch. He was CIM’s audit and risk chair for several years and has been a director-at-large for the CIM Council for the past four years. At the 2018 CIM Convention + Expo in Vancouver, Mike was the moderator of the plenary session.

He is also currently a director of Canuck Place Children’s Hospice in Vancouver and a board member of HighGold Mining Inc.

Ian Pearce



Candace MacGibbon

Incoming President-Elect


Anne Marie Toutant

Immediate Past President

Governance Commitee Chair


Audit and Risk Committee Chair

Eric Talbot

Director at large

Garth Kirkham
Kirkham Geosystems

Director at large

Johnna Muinonen
Dumont Nickel

District Vice-Presidents

Eastern District, Second Year

Stefanie Vo

Eastern District, First Year

Craig Hudson
Santa Barbara Gold

Central District, Second Year

Betty Lin

Central District, First Year

Phillip Cancilla
Heath & Sherwood

Western District, Second Year

Mary-Jane Piggott
Klohn Cripen Berger

Western District, First Year

Philippe Lepage

Society Chairs

Canadian Mineral Processors Society

Stuart McTavish
SF McTavish Consulting Inc.

Environmental and Social Responsibility Society

Jenifer Hill

Geological Society

Andre Randall
Simon Fraser University

Health and Safety Society

Samantha Espley

Maintenance, Engineering and Reliability Society

Martin Provencher

Metallurgy and Materials Society

Roki Fukuzawa

Management & Economics Society

Carlos da Costa
SFU and UBC Lecturer

Mining Society of Nova Scotia

Morgan Schauerte

Rock Engineering Society

Kamran Esmaeli
University of Toronto

Surface Mining Society

Brad Strueby
Teck Resources Limited

Underground Mining Society

Ali Madiseh
University of British Columbia

CIM Committees