CIM Awards 2023 Post-Ceremony


CIM Awards 2023

01 May 2023

CIM Celebrates the 2023 CIM Award Winners 

The Canadian Institute of Mining Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) is thrilled to announce the winners of the 2023 CIM Awards, which took place during the CIM Convention at Palais des congrès de Montréal. This year's prestigious event recognized the outstanding achievements of more than 40 individuals and organizations within the minerals and metals industry across more than 20 award categories.

The 2023 CIM Awards were particularly significant as they coincided with CIM's 125th anniversary, providing a unique opportunity to reflect on the remarkable accomplishments and contributions made by individuals and organizations throughout the minerals and metals industry. These dedicated professionals have played an essential role in shaping Canada's mining industry and positioning it as a global influencer.

The Awards Gala, sponsored by Caterpillar and its Canadian dealers, was a glamorous evening where attendees had the chance to honour the stars of the Canadian minerals industry while enjoying gourmet food, great company, and entertainment.

This year's awards covered a wide range of categories, including Career Excellence Awards, Branch and Society Awards, Safety Awards, Early Career Awards, Exploration Awards, Sustainability Awards, and more. The full list of winners can be found below.

See the complete list of awards and recipients listed below.

Congratulations to all CIM Award Winners

50 Year Award

Hrayr Agnerian
John A. Amirault 
Thomas Michael Dereniwski 
Daniel Goffaux
Lutz Klingmann
Philip MacIntyre 
Larry E. Seeley
Terrence J. Thiessen
Dan Tolgyesi
William Weymark
Fran Yungwirth
Richard Zimmer

A.O. Dufresne Exploration Achievement Award
Skeena Resources Eskay Deposit Exploration Team

Bedford Canadian Young Leaders Awards
Kevin Bromfield
Shelby Yee
Chris Copley 
Trang Tran-Valade

CIM Distinguished Lecturers

Priti Wanjara 
Doris Hiam-Galvez
Hani Mitri 
Mustafa Kumral
Gary Poxleitner 
Nancy Wilk 
Roy Slack 

CIM Fellowship

Stéfanie Vo
Alistair Kent
Bob Chambers 
George B. Darling

Distinguished Service Medal
Keith N. Spence 

District Distinguished Service Award
Robert Cloutier - Eastern District 
Roy Slack - Central District 
John P. Thompson - Western District 

Diversity and Inclusion
Mary-Jane Piggott

Excellence in Sustainable Development Award
Alistair Kent 

Hatch-CIM Mining & Minerals Project Development Safety Award
Rio Tinto - Kemano T2 Tunnel Project

J.C. Sproule Northern Exploration Award
Craig Hart 

John T. Ryan Safety Trophies 

National Metal
Glencore - Nickel Rim South Operation

National Select
Vale - Voisey's Bay Mine 

National Coal
Westmoreland Mining Holdings LLC - Poplar River Mine

Regional Metal BC/Yukon
New Gold Inc., New Afton Mine

Regional Metal  Prairie/Territory
Agnico Eagle Mine Ltd – Meliadine Mine    

Regional Metal Ontario
Vale Canada Ltd - Coleman Mine 

Regional Metal Quebec/Atlantic
Hecla Québec - Mine Casa Berardi 

Regional Select West
Nutrien - Rocanville Mine 

Regional Select East
Atlantic Mining NS Inc (St. Barbara Ltd.) - Touquoy Mine 

Mine Safety Technology
Lake Shore Gold - Timmins West Mine 

Julian Boldy Geological Society Service Award
Theresa Nyabeze 

Mel W. Bartley Outstanding Branch Award
CIM Sudbury Branch 

McParland Memorial Award for Excellence in Maintenence, Engineering, and Reliability
Martin Provencher 

Mining Safety Leadership Award
Don MacLean

Mining Engineering Outstanding Achievement Award
Jim Gusek

Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award
Mauro Chiesa (Posthumous)

Selwyn Blaylock Canadian Mining Excellence Award
Phillips S. Baker, Jr. 

Towards Sustainable Mining (TSM) Awards

Community Engagement Excellence Award 
Diavik Mine’s Turning Copper into ‘Gold’ project - Rio Tinto 

Environment Excellence Award 
New Afton Mine's Energy and GHG Management Project - New Gold 

Vale Medal for Meritorious Contributions to Mining
Kurt Strobele

About CIM 

The Canadian Institute of Mining Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) is a leading technical society committed to the advancement and promotion of knowledge, technology, and best practices in the mining, metallurgy, and petroleum sectors. CIM serves its members and the global mining community by providing networking opportunities, professional development, and advocacy for the betterment of the industry. 

For more information, please contact: 
Rosemary Mantini 
Communications Manager