CIM

Roy Slack

Inscrivez-vous

Roy Slack

2021

Confrérie de l'ICM

Ancien Président de l'ICM (2019-2020)

« Pour ses contributions exceptionnelles à l’ICM et à la durabilité des compagnies contractantes canadiennes dans le domaine de l’industrie minière. »

Roy Slack est un ingénieur minier qui a obtenu son diplôme de l’Université Queen’s de Kingston en 1982. Depuis lors, il a participé à des projets d’ingénierie et d’aménagement de mines au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde.

À la fin de 1998, il a commencé à travailler pour la société Cementation en Amérique du Nord. Cementation est une société d’ingénierie spécialisée dans les mines souterraines de roche dure qui aménage de nouvelles mines et réalise des projets d’agrandissement minier. Aujourd’hui, Cementation est l’une des plus grandes sociétés d’ingénierie à œuvrer dans les mines souterraines de roche dure de l’Amérique du Nord. La compagnie fait partie du Top 100 des employeurs au Canada depuis trois ans selon MediaCorp et le magazine Macleans. En 2009, Cementation, selon le journal Financial Post, fait partie des dix meilleurs employeurs du pays.

Slack est membre de l’ICM depuis longtemps et président de la section Northern Gateway de l’ICM. Il participe au programme ontarien Common Core depuis 1990. Il a travaillé fébrilement au sein de bon nombre d’organismes de sécurité, y compris à titre d’administrateur pour l’Ontario Mine Contractor’s Safety Association (OMCSA) (association pour la sécurité des entrepreneurs miniers de l’Ontario) et pour des comités consultatifs de la MASHA (Mines and Aggregates Safety and Health Association), de président du Comité de révision de la réglementation touchant le fonçage de puits de l’OMCSA et, actuellement, de membre de l’initiative CEO Health & Safety Leadership Charter. À l’automne 2008, M. Slack s’est vu décerner la médaille d’entreprenariat réservée aux ingénieurs par l’organisme Professional Engineers of Ontario.

CIM

Roy Slack

Join

Roy Slack

2021

CIM Fellowship

2009

Metal Mining Society Award

Past President of CIM (2019-2020)

“For his exceptional contributions to CIM and to the sustainability of Canadian contracting companies related to the mining industry.”

Roy Slack is a professional engineer who graduated from Queen’s University in Kingston in 1982 with a degree in mining engineering. Since graduation, he has been involved in mine construction and engineering projects throughout Canada and the world.

In late 1998, he began Cementation’s operations in North America. Cementation is an underground hardrock mine contracting and engineering firm that builds new mines and expands existing mines for mine owners. Today, Cementation is one of the largest underground mine contractors in North America. The company has been recognized as one of the top 100 employers in Canada for the last three years running by MediaCorp and Macleans magazine. Cementation has also been recognized as one of the Financial Post’s 2009 ten best companies to work for.

Slack is a long-standing CIM member and chairman of the CIM Northern Gateway Branch. He has been a signing authority for the Ontario Common Core program since 1990. He has been actively involved in a number of safety organizations, including as a director of the Ontario Mine Contractor’s Safety Association, MASHA Technical Advisory Committees, chair of the Shaft Sinking Regulations Review Committee, and is currently a member of the CEO Health & Safety Leadership Charter. In the fall of 2008, Slack was awarded the Engineer’s Medal for Entrepreneurship by the Professional Engineers of Ontario.