CIM Celebrates and Recognizes Excellence in the Industry

1250-3500 de Maisonneuve Blvd. West
Westmount, QC, Canada
H3Z 3C1

May 14, 2020, Montréal, Québec. The celebration and recognition of excellence within the mining and minerals industry is a tradition of which CIM is extremely proud. The CIM Caterpillar Celebration of Excellence is an occasion the mining community anticipates each year. The event recognizes and honours the industry’s finest for their outstanding contributions in various fields.

Traditionally, recipients are recognized on stage in front of a crowd of their peers at the CIM Celebration Banquet during the CIM Annual Convention. Due to the extenuating circumstances this year, the banquet and the convention – scheduled to take place in Vancouver – have been cancelled.

However, this does not prevent us from recognizing that their achievements and dedication are what make Canada’s global mining and minerals industry a force to be reckoned with.

This year, we are introducing this select group of leaders to the CIM community and mining industry-at-large through all of our digital channels. We will continue to celebrate CIM Award recipients throughout the year.

Presenting the 2020 CIM Award recipients. Congratulations to the winners!

Download the 2020 CIM Award Winners Booklet

A.O. Dufresne Exploration Achievement Award
Great Bear Resources Ltd.

CIM Bedford Canadian Young Mining Leaders Award
Courtney Nunn, David M. Robson and Kate Patterson

CIM Distinguished Lecturers
James Budac, Jamile Cruz, Monica Ospina, Nathan Ashcroft and C.D. (‘Lyn) Anglin

CIM Distinguished Service Medal
David J. Forrester and Deborah A. McCombe

CIM Fellowship
Qingxia Liu, Andrew David (Dave) Mackintosh, Richard A.J. May, Eberhard W. Scherkus, Larry Urbanoski, Joël Kapusta, William Taciuk and John M. Willson

CIM Presidents’ Role Model Medal
Betty Yi-Shing Lin

Diversity & Inclusion Award
David Pathe

John T. Ryan Trophies

National: Glencore Nickel Mine Raglan (Metals), DeBeers Group of Companies – Gahcho Kue Mine (Select); Vale – Voisey’s Bay Mine (Select); Westmoreland Coal Poplar River Mine (Coal).

Regional: New Gold Inc. – New Afton Mine (Metal BC/Yukon); Cameco Corporation – Cigar Lake Operation (Metal Prairie/Territory); Kidd Operations, A Glencore Company (Metal Ontario); Rambler Metals and Mining Canada Ltd. (Metal Quebec/Maritimes); Mosaic Esterhazy (Select West); DeBeers Canada – Victor Mine (Select East).

Mel W. Bartley Award
CIM Toronto Branch

Mining Engineering Outstanding Achievement Award 
Rimas Pakalnis (posthumous)

Mining Safety Leadership Medal
Charles Levac

Outgoing President Plaque
Roy Slack

Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award
Reno Pressacco

Selwyn Blaylock Canadian Mining Excellence Award
Gregory (Greg) Gosson

Vale Medal for Meritorious Contributions to Mining
Christopher Twigge-Molecey

CIM Community Service Award
Kim Bittman

District Distinguished Service Award
West District: Neda Farmer

J.C. Sproule Award
Malcolm E. Robb

Excellence in Sustainable Development Award
Mohammed Ali

Barlow Medal for Best Geological Paper
Gary Sutton

Julian Boldy Geological Society
Elizabeth (Libby) Sharman

Learn more about CIM Awards

View past recipients

About CIM

The Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) has served as the leading technical industry institute in Canada for the past 122 years. CIM is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge, facilitation of innovation, the celebration of excellence and the promotion of sustainable practices across the full spectrum of Canada’s minerals, metals, materials and petroleum industries.