CIM Awards 2023


CIM Awards 2023

03 April 2023

Canadian Institute of Mining Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) Announces the 2023 CIM Awards 

The Canadian Institute of Mining Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) is excited to announce that this year’s prestigious CIM Awards feature 23 industry awards that celebrate the extraordinary achievements of more than 55 individuals and organizations within the minerals and metals industry.  

Although the CIM Awards are held annually during the CIM Convention, this year is a particularly poignant time to recognize excellence within the industry because 2023 marks CIM’s 125th anniversary. CIM is extremely proud of its tradition of honouring those who have made exceptional contributions in various fields related to the minerals and metals industry. Their achievements and dedication have always made—and continue to make—Canada's mining industry an important influencer on the global stage. 

The CIM Awards will be presented at the Awards Gala, sponsored by Caterpillar and its Canadian dealers, on Monday, May 1, 2023 during the CIM Convention held at Palais des congrès de Montréal/Montreal Convention Centre. This sumptuous evening offers attendees the opportunity to recognize the shining stars of the Canadian minerals industry, while enjoying gourmet food, great company, and entertainment.  

This year’s awards include Career Excellence Awards, Branch and Society Awards, Safety Awards, Early Career Awards, Exploration Awards, Sustainability Awards and more.  

See the complete list of awards and recipients listed below.  

Congratulations CIM Award Recipients 

50 Year Award
Hrayr Agnerian 
John A. Amirault 
Thomas Michael Dereniwski 
Daniel Goffaux
Lutz Klingmann
Philip MacIntyre 
Larry E. Seeley 
Terrence J. Thiessen 
Dan Tolgyesi 
William Weymark 
Fran Yungwirth 
Richard Zimmer 

A.O. Dufresne Exploration Achievement Award
Skeena Resources Eskay Deposit Exploration Team 

Bedford Canadian Young Leaders Awards
Kevin Bromfield 
Shelby Yee 
Chris Copley 
Trang Tran-Valade 

CIM Distinguished Lecturers
Priti Wanjara 
Doris Hiam-Galvez 
Hani Mitri 
Mustafa Kumral 
Gary Poxleitner 
Nancy Wilk 
Roy Slack 

CIM Fellowship
Stéfanie Vo 
Alistair Kent 
Bob Chambers 
George B. Darling 

Distinguished Service Medal
Keith N. Spence 

District Distinguished Service Award
Robert Cloutier - Eastern District 
Roy Slack - Central District 
John P Thompson - Western District 

Diversity and Inclusion
Mary-Jane Piggott

Excellence in Sustainable Development Award
Alistair Kent 

Hatch-CIM Mining & Minerals Project Development Safety Award
Kemano T2 Tunnel Project, owner, Rio Tinto

J.C. Sproule Northern Exploration Award
Craig Hart 

Julian Boldy Geological Society Service Award
Theresa Nyabeze 

Mel W. Bartley Outstanding Branch Award
CIM Sudbury Branch 

McParland Memorial Award for Excellence in Maintenence, Engineering, and Reliability
Martin Provencher 

Mining Safety Leadership Award
Don MacLean

Mining Engineering Outstanding Achievement Award
Jim Gusek

Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award
Mauro Chiesa

Selwyn Blaylock Canadian Mining Excellence Award
Phillips S. Baker, Jr. 

Vale Medal for Meritorious Contributions to Mining
Kurt Strobele


For more information or to reserve tickets, please visit the CIM Convention website at 

About CIM 

The Canadian Institute of Mining Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) is a leading technical society committed to the advancement and promotion of knowledge, technology, and best practices in the mining, metallurgy, and petroleum sectors. CIM serves its members and the global mining community by providing networking opportunities, professional development, and advocacy for the betterment of the industry. 

For more information, please contact: 

Rosemary Mantini 

Communications Manager