CIM Awards 2019

Mining professionals honoured at CIM Convention 2019 Awards Gala

Montreal, QC, April 30, 2019: It is an evening the mining community highly anticipates each year – the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) Caterpillar Celebration of Excellence, which recognizes the exceptional contributions individuals and organizations make to the mining and minerals industry. The CIM Convention 2019 is being held at the Palais des Congrès de Montréal from April 28 to May 1, 2019, and the Celebration of Excellence was on Monday, April 29.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!

CIM Bedford Canadian Young Mining Leaders Award
Agus Pulung Sasmito, Darren Nathan, Elenor Siebring and Shannon Katary

CIM Distinguished Lecturers
Betty-Ann Heggie, Brian Lee Crowley, Mayana Kissiova, Nathan M. Stubina and Théophile Yameogo

CIM Distinguished Service Medal
Timothy J. Skinner

CIM Fellowship
André (Andy) Lemay, Bryan A. Coates, Donna Beneteau, Florent Baril, Graham Farquharson, James (Jim) W. Hewitt, Jean Fortin, Piers M. Ebsworth and Shannon Campbell

Diversity & Inclusion Award
Mafalda Arias

John T. Ryan Trophies

National: Agnico Eagle – Division Lapa (Metals), Mosaic Potash Esterhazy Limited – K1 Mine (Select); Vale – Voisey’s Bay Mine (Select) and Prairie Mines & Royalty ULC Westmoreland – Paintearth Mine and Poplar River Mine (Coal).

Regional: New Gold Inc. – New Afton Mine (Metal BC/Yukon), Cameco Corporation – Cigar Lake (Metal Prairie/Territory), Goldcorp – Red Lake Gold Mines (Metal Ontario), Glencore Nickel – Mine Raglan (Metal Quebec/Maritimes), Imperial Oil Resources – Kearl Operations (Select West) and DeBeers Canada – Victor Mine (Select East).

Mel W. Bartley Award
CIM Porcupine Branch

Mining Engineering Outstanding Achievement Award 
Jaroslav (Jarek) Jakubec

Mining Safety Leadership Medal
Gordon Winkel

Outgoing President Plaque
Janice Zinck

Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award
Terence Ortslan

Towards Sustainable Mining Community Engagement Award
Glencore – Raglan Mine for their Tamatumani project

Towards Sustainable Mining Environmental Excellence Award
IAMGOLD – Essakane SA Mine for their solar project

Vale Medal for Meritorious Contributions to Mining
Peter N. Calder

CIM Community Service Award
John Francis Hugh Thompson

District Distinguished Service Award
Central District: Catharine Shaw

McParland Memorial Award
Steve Courchesne

J.C. Sproule Award
Chantal Lavoie

Excellence in Sustainable Development Award
Bruce Armitage

Barlow Medal for Best Geological Paper
A. Hamid Mumin

Julian Boldy Geological Society
Serge Perreault

Learn more about CIM Awards and view past recipients.