John T. Ryan Trophies

For a mine in a given category which experienced the lowest reportable injury frequency in the previous year

The John T. Ryan Trophies are awarded by Mine Safety Appliances Canada Limited as a memorial to the founder of the company. The trophies are awarded by the Institute to the metalliferous mine, the select mine and the coal mine which in the previous year experienced the lowest reportable injury frequency per 200,000 hours worked in Canada. For nominations, please contact your local chief mines inspector, or the John T. Ryan secretary Thomas Demorest at

Current Winner(s)

National Metal Category

Rambler Metals and Mining Canada Ltd.

National Select Award

Mosaic Potash Esterhazy Limited

K1 Mine

National Coal Award

Westmoreland Coal Co.

Genesee Mine

Regional Metal BC / Yukon

New Gold Inc.

New Afton Mine

Regional Metal Prairies & Territories

Cameco Corporation

Cigar Lake

Regional Metal Ontario

Sudbury INO, a Glencore Company

Nickel Rim South Mine

Regional Select Quebec & Maritimes


Eleonore Mine

Regional Select West

Mosaic Potash Esterhazy Limited

K2 & Brine Inflow

Regional Select East

DeBeers Canada

Victor Mine