CIM Fellowship

For outstanding continuous contributions to CIM and/or the mining, metallurgical and petroleum industries

The CIM Fellowship award was established by CIM Council in November 1986. The award differs from existing CIM awards in that a larger number of members can be recognized – up to 10% of the membership can be CIM Fellows – and the recognition visibly continues after the time of presentation.

A CIM Fellow can place "FCIM" after his name when deemed appropriate.

The selection of CIM Fellowship award winners is under the auspices of the CIM President-Elect, and recipients are chosen through a three-tier process designed to promote uniformity and fairness.

The Fellowship Award will consist of a certificate suitable for framing, and will be presented at the Annual General Meeting or at an appropriate Society, Division, District or Branch meeting. The names of new Fellows will be announced in the CIM Magazine.

With the Fellowship Award, the Institute will recognize many of its distinguished members for their achievements and contributions. Successful implementation will require the cooperation of members in each discipline represented by CIM and in all geographic regions of Canada.

Current Winner(s)

Peter Calder

Peter Calder headshot

Tad Crowie

Tad Crowie

James Hatley

James Hatley

Pierre Julien

Pierre Julien

Garth Kirkham

Garth Kirikham

John Starkey

John Starkey headshot