National Trophy for Coal Mines


National Trophy for Coal Mines



Westmoreland Coal Co., Poplar River Mine

The Poplar River Mine began back in 1979, first owned and operated by SaskPower Corporation of Saskatchewan. After many name changes over the years, the mine is now owned by Westmoreland Mining. The mine is located in picturesque southern Saskatchewan, saddled up against the Big Muddy Valley. Employing approximately 140 people, the mine has been a constant supplier of coal to the Poplar River generating station for over 44 years. In addition to providing employment for area residents it has  also strived to be a good neighbor and participant  in the communities that surround the mine. The Poplar River Mine has always prided itself on safety which has allowed them to win The National John T. Ryan award 4 of the last 5 years by achieving a total frequency rate of 0.00. The mine’s strong safety culture and top-notch employees help power the Province of Saskatchewan! 


Coalspur Mine (Operations) Ltd, Vista Mine