Awards & Scholarships

The CIM Newfoundland Branch Silver Jubilee Scholarship was established in 1978 to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the CIM Newfoundland Branch. It is available to students in their final or penultimate year in Earth Sciences at Memorial University. Scholastic achievement is the principal requirement governing the award but financial need and character may be taken into account.

  • Silver Jubilee Scholarship 2016 winner: Jessica Roberts, Earth Sciences at Memorial University

The CIM Newfoundland Branch Golden Jubilee Scholarship was established in 2003 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the CIM Newfoundland Branch. Based on academic standing, the scholarship is awarded to a student majoring in studies related to the fields of interest of CIM, specifically, Earth Sciences, Geophysics, Geography, Economics, Environmental Science, Engineering, Business and Commerce. 

  • Golden Jubilee Scholarship 2016 winner: Adam Michael Keating, Mechanical Engineering at Memorial University

CIM Newfoundland Branch Mining Industry and Research awards

Nominations for these awards were received from their peers and each submission was assessed by a CIM Newfoundland Branch subcommittee. The awards this year are for Developer / Miner of the Year, Prospector / Explorer of the Year, and Geoscientist of the Year.

  • 2016 Developer/Miner of the Year: Anaconda Mining Incorporated
  • 2016 Prospector/Explorer of the Year: Brian Jones
  • 2016 Geoscientist of the Year: James Reeves