Diversity & Inclusion Award



1. The Diversity and Inclusion Award is awarded for exceptional contribution towards improving diversity and inclusion within the mining industry, i.e. recognition of either a very special initiative and or achievement or consistent achievements over an extended period (at least 3 years)

2. The Award shall be presented annually and preference shall be given to an individual who have not yet been recognized, received awards or related to this area, especially within CIM.

3. Nominations for the award shall be accompanied by signatures of at least ten (10) CIM national members.

4. Each nomination is to be accompanied by a statement (no more than 500 words) clearly outlining the achievements and qualifications of the nominee.

5. Adjudication of the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Environmental and Social Responsibility Society. This committee will consist of up to (7) Members:

  • Award champion – the Society Chair and/or designated ESRS member representative.  This person will manage receipt and review of nominations, help identify judges, etc. 
  • Chair or designated representative of the CIM diversity and inclusion committee (DAIC).
  • Past recipient of the award
  • A Canadian Aboriginal Minerals Association (CAMA)/ESRS joint member
  • A Women in Mining (WIM)/ESRS joint member
  • CIM student ESRS member

6. The Committee shall designate a recipient among the nominees for presentation to CIM Council, no later than the last Council meeting held prior to the annual CIM Convention.

7. The Awards shall be presented at the CIM Convention.

8. All nominations properly presented shall remain in good standing for a period of three (3) years unless formally withdrawn over the signatures of a majority of members responsible for the nomination.

9. Nominees must be CIM National Members, ESRS members preferred.