CIM Rock Mechanics Award

For significant and lasting contributions to research or applications in rock mechanics for the benefit of the Canadian mining industry

Award criteria


The Rock Mechanics Award is given to deserving candidates, members of CIM, who have made significant and lasting contributions to research or applications in rock mechanics for the benefit of the Canadian mining industry. The award recipient is selected by the CIM Rock Engineering Society.

CIM Rock Mechanics Award criteria and other information:

  1. The award shall be made from time to time as circumstances warrant in recognition of significant and lasting contributions to the advancement of rock mechanics in Canada.
  2. The award shall consist of an appropriate plaque and other testimonial as determined by the Board of Directors of the Rock Engineering Society.
  3. No more than one award may be given for any one calendar year.
  4. The recipient shall be an active CIM National member, and have also been a CIM National member for a minimum of two previous years.
  5.  The recipient shall be a Canadian citizen.
  6.  Current members of the Rock Engineering Society’s Special Committee for the Rock Mechanics Award are not eligible for the award.
  7.   Past recipients are not eligible for the award.


  1. Members of the Rock Engineering Society (i.e. CIM members who have identified the Rock Engineering Society as a technical interest group on their membership application form) shall nominate candidates for the award.
  2. A nomination shall be accompanied by:
    i. A letter providing a description of the nominee’s specific contributions to rock mechanics in the Canadian mining industry, and other unique qualifications for the award.
    ii. Other relevant information (e.g. letters of support, curriculum vitae of nominee).
  3. Completed nominations shall be forwarded to the Chair of the Society for Rock Engineering no later than October 1 of each year.
  4. A nomination stands for three (3) years.



Brad Simser

Brad Simser is the Principal Ground Control Engineer for Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations, Glencore. During the past 30 years, he has worked as a ground control engineer with several operations. He currently oversees the ground control programs for the Fraser Mine Complex and Nickel Rim South Mine, is the lead for the future mines of Onaping Depth and Nickel Rim South Extension, and is a member of the Workplace Safety North Ground Control Committee. He has also worked in ground control in Canada for Craig and Onaping Mines, Noranda Technology Centre, and Brunswick Mine. In South Africa, he worked at President Steyn Mine. Brad is an exceptional engineer who has written numerous papers on the practical application of rock mechanics principles in operating mines. Brad's knowledge, guidance, understanding, and recommendations have been helping people in underground jobs come home safely. He realizes that it is important for mining companies to investigate and document new methods and technologies for the next generation, with the hope that they will be able to further advance the field of rock mechanics.


Hani Mitri

Hani Mitri is the Director of Mining at McGill University and a professional engineer in the province of Quebec. During the past 25 years, he has made technical and scientific contributions as an educator, researcher and consultant in the mining industry. He has more than 200 papers in scientific journals and conference proceedings, and has supervised more than 40 Master's and PhD students. He is associate editor and editorial board member of several international journals. He chaired and co-chaired several international conferences. He was the 2007 Technical Program Chair and the 2011 Technical Program Co-Chair of the CIM Convention. He has also served as chair of the Montreal Branch of CIM.