Inscrivez-vous

Duncan Middlemiss

2017

Prix pour des accomplissements remarquables en génie minier

Duncan Middlemiss est connu comme un ingénieur en production prospère, un chef d’entreprise et un bâtisseur d’équipe. Se considérant lui-même comme un « réparateur », ses capacités à former et à diriger des équipes multidisciplinaires fonctionnelles et à rétablir les opérations difficiles ont bien servi les actionnaires de Kirkland Lake Gold, St Andrew Goldfields et Wesdome Gold Mines.

Middlemiss est né et a grandi à Kirkland Lake et a travaillé en tant qu’étudiant saisonnier à la mine d’or prolifique Kerr-Addison. C’est à ce moment qu’il s’est découvert une passion pour l’exploitation minière. M. Middlemiss a obtenu un diplôme à la Haileybury School of Mines en 1986 et un baccalauréat en génie minier à l’Université Queen’s en 1989.

La combinaison des connaissances qu’il a acquises dans ces institutions a forgé sa conviction le poussant à rechercher des solutions pratiques visant à employer les meilleures technologies de l’époque. Tout au long de sa carrière, M. Middlemiss a gravi les échelons au sein de la direction et a toujours encouragé le perfectionnement des employés en veillant à offrir un environnement favorable au travail d’équipe.

Join

Duncan Middlemiss

2017

Mining Engineering Outstanding Achievement Award

Duncan Middlemiss is recognized as a successful production engineer, corporate leader and team builder. A self-admitted “fixer”, his abilities to form and lead functional multi-disciplinary teams and turn around distressed operations have well served the shareholders of Kirkland Lake Gold, St Andrew Goldfields and Wesdome Gold Mines.

Middlemiss was born and raised in Kirkland Lake and worked as a summer student at the prolific Kerr-Addison Gold Mine. It was here that he developed his passion for mining. Middlemiss graduated from the Haileybury School of Mines in 1986 and Queen’s University in 1989 with a BSc in mining engineering.

The learning combination of these institutions was instrumental in his belief of finding practical solutions employing the best technology at the time. Throughout his career, Middlemiss has held increasingly senior positions and always valued the development of employees and sought to provide an environment which was conducive to teamwork.