2024 CIM Award Winners


Announcing the 2024 CIM Award Winners

04 April 2024

CIM is excited to announce that this year’s prestigious CIM-Caterpillar Awards features over 15 industry awards that celebrate the extraordinary achievements of more than 56 individuals and organizations within the minerals and metals industry.

New this year! The Indigenous Partnership Award recognizes community and industry working together to deliver an initiative, program or agreement that demonstrates significant, ongoing contributions to the advancement of Indigenous reconciliation in the mining sector. This award honours exceptional, sustainable collaborations with, and within, Indigenous communities.

CIM is extremely proud of its tradition of honouring those who have made exceptional contributions in various fields related to the minerals and metals industry. Their achievements and dedication have always made—and continue to make—Canada's mining industry a unique influencer in the global minerals, metals and energy landscape.  

The CIM Awards are presented at the Awards Gala, sponsored by Caterpillar and its Canadian dealers, on Monday, May 13, 2024 during the CIM CONNECT Convention + Expo at the Vancouver Convention Centre. Awards Gala attendees recognize the shining stars of the Canadian minerals industry while enjoying gourmet food, great company and entertainment.
Learn more about CIM Awards

List of CIM awards and recipients:

50 Year Club  

Wesley Young
William J. Anderson
Jacques Bonneau
Noël Billette
Graham Clow
Robert Cuttriss
J.H. Gray
James (Jim) Gowans
Rejean Gourde
David Jones
Graham A. Karklin
Pierre Laroche
R. Douglas Learmont
Stuart Middleton
Jerry McCrank
Robert Michaud
Andrew J. Oliver
Thomas Pugsley
Jean-Charles Potvin Bill Pearson
T.J. (Terry) Skinner

CIM Distinguished Lecturers

James Finch
Caius Priscu
Reno Pressacco
Douglas Milne

CIM District Distinguished Service Award

Maggie MacKay 
Robert Gibson 
Stephen Graham Hardcastle

CIM Fellowship

Agus Sasmito
Alex Davidson
Berge Simonian
Robert Piccolo
Karl Christian West
Manochehr Oliazadeh

CIM Rock Mechanics

Veronique Falmagne

Mel W. Bartley Outstanding Branch Award

Northern Gateway Branch

Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award

Fred Pletcher

Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award (50th anniversary)

Robert Bruce Elver

A.O Dufresne Exploration Achievement Award

John Cameron Rowntree

Barlow Medal for Best Geological Paper

George Simandl
Suzanne Paradis
Laura Simandl

Julian Boldy Geological Society Service Award

Jim Walker

Diversity & Inclusion Award

Samantha Espley

CIM Indigenous Partnership Award

Cowessess First Nation
Morris Interactive

CIM Distinguished Service Medal

Garth Kirkham

Selwyn Blaylock Canadian Mining Excellence Award

Len Murray

Canadian Young Mining Leaders Award - Sponsored by The Bedford Group

Josephine Morgenroth
Jean-Simon Beaudry
Keira Sawatzky
Alexandra Foty 

Mining Engineering Outstanding Achievement Award

Jim Gray

Mining Safety Leadership Medal

Roy Slack

Excellence in Sustainable Development Award

Karen Chovan

Vale Medal for Meritorious Contributions to Mining

Tony Warner

CIM congratulates all award recipients!

Learn more about CIM Awards