About Us

The Branch’s first priority is to involve our local students from the University of Saskatchewan and Saskatchewan Polytechnic campus. This direct link between our Branch members and the CIM Saskatoon Student Chapter has provided the students with preparation and guidance for the next generation of leaders in the mining industry. The Saskatoon Branch Scholarship Program awarded has awarded over $150,000 since 2012 to local Saskatchewan Students in related programs.

Much has happened since the CIM Saskatoon Branch was established in 1965. The potash, uranium, and oil & gas sectors have seen tremendous activity and market downturns but continue to make their mark on the world stage. Our branch has over 800 followers and we continue to focus on growth and development of our membership and program.  The Branch features excellent technical and social programs that focus on networking and attracting students.

Each year, from fall through spring, we present themed monthly dinner meetings with various technical presentations. Our Annual Gala and Spring Social are very popular as they bring out members’ friends and family for good food, entertainment, and networking.  Our final event is the prestigious Annual Golf Tournament in July. This tournament sells out in minutes and is the second largest tournament in Saskatoon.  We have been hosting this must-attend golf tournament for almost 50 years and is just another way we contribute to the students’ sponsorship contributions.

Branch members benefit from our events by gaining knowledge from their peers and presenters at technical events and by building bonds with industry stakeholders. Because our members make up such a proportionally large group from the local mining industry, there are numerous opportunities to learn about and make contacts from other mining or petroleum industries.

CIM Saskatoon Executives

(from left to right) 
Back Row : Paul Hugues (U of S Liaison), Dean Gay (Golf Director), Brad Hill (Golf Director)
Middle Row: Richard May (Director at Large), Doug Milne (U of S Liaison), Dave Mackintosh (Director at Large), Sonny Wilson (Facilities Director), Tara Stratton (Administrator) 
Front Row: John Cairns (Treasurer), Donna Beneteau (Scholarship Director), Dennis Lammers (IT Director), Chuck Edwards (CIM Chairperson), Robert Carey (CIM National Liaison)
Missing: Rory Duncan (Vice-Chairperson, Karen Coates (Director at Large), Michael Fieber (Former Chairperson)


Scholarship Sponsors