John T. Ryan Trophies

For a mine in a given category which experienced the lowest reportable injury frequency in the previous year

The John T. Ryan Trophies are awarded by Mine Safety Appliances Canada Limited as a memorial to the founder of the company. The trophies are awarded by the Institute to the metalliferous mine, the select mine and the coal mine which in the previous year experienced the lowest reportable injury frequency per 200,000 hours worked in Canada. For nominations, please contact your local chief mines inspector, or the John T. Ryan secretary Thomas Demorest at

Current Winner(s)

National Metal Category


Eleonore Mine, Quebec
Goldcorp Eleonore Mine

National Select Award


Potash Belle Plaine, Saskatchewan

National Select Award

DeBeers Canada

Victor Mine, Ontario
De Beers Victor Mine

National Select Award


Voisey’s Bay Mine, Newfoundland and Labrador
Voisey's Bay

National Coal Award

Teck Coal Limited

Greenhills Operations, British Columbia
Teck Coal

Regional Metal Trophy

Agnico Eagle

Mine Lapa, Québec/Atlantic region
Angico Eaglqe Lapa Mine

Regional Metal Trophy

Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations, a Glencore Company

Fraser Mine, Ontario region
Sudbury Fraser Mine

Regional Metal Trophy

Tantalum Mining Corporation of Canada

Bernic Lake, Prairie Provinces, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut
Tantalum Mining Bernic Lake

Regional Metal Trophy

New Gold Inc.

New Afton Mine, British Columbia/Yukon
New Gold New Afton Mine

Regional Select Trophy

Syncrude Canada Ltd.

Mildred Lake & Aurora Mines, Alberta

Regional Select Trophy

Tata Steel Minerals Canada

DSO Project, Newfoundland & Labrador
Tata Steel