CIM-NRCan Journalism Awards



1. The CIM/NRCan Journalism Awards are presented annually to journalists in Canada for technically accurate and balanced writing and broadcasting which enhance public understanding of the minerals and petroleum industries and its contribution to the economic and social well-being of Canada. Eligible candidates are staff or freelance journalists for print media, radio and television outlets in Canada. The awards are made in the following categories:
  • News reporting (print)
  • Featuring Writing (news features or columns
  • Radio
  • Television
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Student Category
The winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award receives $2,500, a mounted gold-bearing ore specimen and a framed certificate. Winners in all the other categories receive $1,000, a mounted gold-bearing ore specimen and a framed certificate. A student bursary of $500 and a framed certificate will be awarded to a student attending a journalism school in Canada. An Honourable Mention scroll is presented to other deserving entries.

2. A journalist may submit an entry for consideration in each category. All entries should come in six (6) copies.

3. Entries for the News Reporting category should consist of one or more articles.

4. Entries for the Feature Writing categories should consist of one or more articles.

5. Entries for the Radio category should consist of one or more reports on cassette.

6. Entries for the Television category should consist of one or more reports on videotape.

7. Entries for the Lifetime Achievement Award should consist of four print articles, four radio cassettes or four video cassettes, or a combination of the above, depending on the field of endeavour of the journalist.

8. Reports may be presented in either French or English. An award shall be made only for published or broadcasted reports made during the calendar year preceding any Annual General Meeting of the Institute.

9. Each entry should include a letter of submission signed by the entrant and the entrant’s supervisor.

10. Entries must be received by CIM no later than January 31 of the year of presentation at CIM National Office, Montreal, Quebec.
11. The winning entries will be selected by a panel of judges chosen by the CIM Public Affairs Committee and by NRCan on the basis of their expertise in communications, finance, geology engineering, metallurgy and other relevant disciplines. The decision of the judges is final.

12. The Awards will be presented at the CIM Annual General Meeting held each spring.

13. Winners are invited to receive their awards at the CIM Annual General Meeting Awards Gala, all expenses paid under the CIM/NRCan agreement.

14. Candidates do not have to be CIM National Members.