McParland Memorial Award for Excellence in Maintenance, Engineering and Reliability

For excellence in maintenance engineering and reliability in the minerals industry

Donald J. McParland was a founding member of the Mechanical-Electrical Division and its first Chairman. After a short and distinguished period with Noranda and Rio Algom, he joined the Brinco organization and eventually became its president and chief executive officer, primarily responsible for the design and construction of the giant Churchill Falls project. His brilliant career was tragically ended in 1969 at the age of forty in an airplane crash at Labrador City. Mr. McParland was engaged in a tour as a CIM Distinguished Lecturer at the time, concentrating his efforts on the small isolated Branches of the Institute. The Mechanical-Electrical Division was established by Mr. McParland and his CIM associates in 1961 to provide a forum for the people and the technology in the field, which had become such a vital part of the mining industry, filling a recognized need. It seemed totally appropriate that a suitable award, under the auspices of the M-E Division, should be established, and that it should commemorate the memory of the founding Chairman and a most remarkable Canadian engineer. Approval for the award was given by the CIM Council in 1972 and sponsorship for the design and execution of the Medal was generously undertaken by Churchill Falls (Labrador) Corporation, for a period of 10 years. The fallen maple leaf in the design depicts a young Canadian abruptly severed from his life and country at the height of his career - a most fitting tribute.

Current Winner(s)

Liezl van Wyk

Liezl van Wyck