John T. Ryan Safety Award

The John T. Ryan trophies are awarded by Mine Safety Appliances Canada Limited as a memorial to the founder of the company. The National trophies are awarded by the Institute to the metalliferous mine, the select mine, and the coal mine which experienced the lowest accident frequencies during the previous year in all of Canada.

2009-2010 National Trophies

Trophy Winner
Canada Trophy for Metal Mines Cameco Corporation McArthur River Mine, Saskatchewan
Canada Trophy for Select Mines Diavik Diamond Mines Inc., Diavik Mine, Northwest Territories
Canada Trophy for Coal Mines Sherritt Coal, Genesee Mine, Alberta

2009-2010 Regional Trophies

Category Winner
Metal Mines Category, Quebec & East Xstrata Nickel, Raglan Mine, Quebec
Metal Mines Category, Ontario Xstrata Copper, Kidd Mine, Ontario
Metal Mines Category, Prairies & Northwest Territories Vale, Birchtree Mine
Metal Mines Category, British Columbia & Yukon Not awarded
Select Mines Category, East CGC Little Narrows, Nova Scotia
Select Mines Category, West De Beers Canada, Snap Lake Mine, Northwest Territories

Click here for John T. Ryan awards results from previous years.