Canadian Mining Schools Committee


Canadian Mining Schools Committee

Created as a forum connecting people to shape the future of Canadian mining education and research, the Canadian Mining Schools Academic Committee (CMSAC) seeks to inspire lifelong learning, advance knowledge and strengthen Canadian mining educational institutes. The CMSAC is involved in promoting education in mining engineering; facilitating communication and exchange between Canadian mining schools; encouraging technology transfer efforts through workshops and seminars; liaising with national, international and non-profit organizations such as MAC, MiHR and the Society of Mining Professors; liaising with government funding agencies; supporting the organization of international conferences and symposiums; recognizing excellence in mining education and research; and promoting CIM membership to academics and students.


Committee Members


Anne Johnson
Queen's University

Vice-Chair, Communications

Hani Mitri
McGill University



Derek Apel
University of Alberta

Tikou Belem
Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue (UQAT)

Donna Beneteau
University of Saskatchewan

Katherine Bruce
Cambrian College

Eugene Ben-Awuah
Laurentian University

Robert Hall
South Dakota School of Mines

Carmen Jensen
University of British Columbia

Li Li
Polytechnique Montreal


Ex Officio

Angela Hamlyn
CIM Chief Executive Officer


Member Spotlight

Hani Mitri, Professor at McGill University and CIM Fellow

CIM is far more than a technical meeting, it’s a community.