District Distinguished Service Award


District Distinguished Service Award

For significant contribution to the mineral industry and CIM Branch

Origins & Conditions


At the instigation of W.M. Gilchrist, CIM President (1974-75), three District Distinguished Service Awards (Western, Central and Eastern District) were created to recognize the contributions on a District level of the many Institute members who have significantly contributed to the development of the industry and the Institute at their local or Branch level.

The District Distinguished Service Award criteria and other information

  1. The District Distinguished Service Awards are to be presented to Institute Members in each of the three geographical Districts (Western, Central and Eastern) described in the Institute By-Laws, in recognition of significant contribution to the mineral industry and the Institute in the area designated. The said contributions need not necessarily be of a particular or a special achievement or be related to a technical field of endeavour.
  2. The awards are to be available for presentation yearly, or as conditions warrant.
  3. Endorsements from the Branches' executives and VPs from the three Districts (one nomination by district) are required.
  4. All nominations shall be accompanied by a description of the personal achievement of the nominee.
  5. The candidate will be submitted to a Special Committee composed of the last three living Past Presidents and the current President who will convene the committee, the members will make their recommendations to the Chief Executive Officer.
  6. The Chief Executive Officer shall forward the nominations to CIM Council not later than the last Council Meeting held prior to the next CIM Convention.
  7. No member of the District Awards Committee shall be party to the nomination of any candidate.
  8. The Award shall be presented at the annual CIM Convention, or at some especially arranged official ceremony in the District.



There are three recipients of this award every year. This award is solely for individual nominations (no teams). 

Nominate a candidate

Nominate a candidate



Robert Cloutier

​Robert Cloutier studied at the University of Montreal where he obtained his B.Sc. in geology. Since 2007 he has worked at Magneto Investments, where he is currently a Senior Geologis. Previously, he was a production geologist at Cambior for 7 years and held several other positions in geology, on both the exploration and production sides. Between 1986 and 2007 he worked at the Casa Berardi mines, Aurizon Mines, Aur Resources, among others.

He has been founding president of the CIM Amos Branch since 2012. He has also been vice-president of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Centre-Abitibi since 2010, member of the HR and OHS committees of the Quebec Mining Association since 2014, administrator of the Cégep de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue since 2014 and member of the Amos-region Education and Training Corporation since 2012.

In 2018, he won the David Gourd award at the Élites gala of the Centre-Abitibi Chamber of Commerce and Industry.


Roy Slack

Past President of CIM (2019-2020)

Roy Slack is a professional engineer and a graduate of Queen’s University in Kingston, with a degree in mining engineering.  

In 1998 he started Cementation’s operations in North America, providing design build mine construction services to the mining sector. He retired from the company in 2019 but remains on the board. He is also on the board of Torex Gold Resources.  

In 2008 he was awarded the Engineer’s Medal for Entrepreneurship by the Professional Engineers of Ontario. In 2013 he was appointed to the Province of Ontario’s first Prevention Council to advise the government on workplace safety. In 2017 Nipissing University bestowed upon him an Honorary Doctorate. He remains active in CIM on the executive of the Health & Safety Society and the Northern Gateway Branch, as well as an Associate Editor for CIM Journal. 

Distinguished Lecturer 2023-24

Lecture Abstracts


40 Years of Safety Shares (Safety)

Based on 40 years of experience in the mining industry, a number of safety stories will be presented with lessons learned, ideas and things to think about. 

Industry Challenges: Observations & Opinions (General)

This lecture offers some non-technical opinions and observations on environmental and social responsibility, diversity and inclusion, and the public’s perception of mining. 

Starting Off Your Career in the Mining Industry (Schools/Student Nights)

An overview of current trends in the mining industry and some practical tips for students and newcomers to the industry will be presented. 

Shaft Sinking 101 (Schools & Mine Development)

An overview of traditional, current and future shaft sinking methods in North America from the author of the chapter on shaft sinking in the latest edition of the SME UG Mining Handbook.

Beer Tasting (Social)

In which a “Cranky Old Man” teams up with a local pub or brewery to host a social with some questionable advice on beer tasting. 

Book this lecturer  

Book this lecturer