CIM Fellowship

For outstanding continuous contributions to CIM and/or the mining, metallurgical and petroleum industries

Origins & Conditions


The CIM Fellowship award was established by CIM Council in November 1986. The award differs from existing CIM awards in that a larger number of members can be recognized – up to 10% of the membership can be CIM Fellows – and the recognition visibly continues after the time of presentation.

A CIM Fellow can place "FCIM" after his name when deemed appropriate.

The selection of CIM Fellowship award winners is under the auspices of the CIM President-Elect, and recipients are chosen through a three-tier process designed to promote uniformity and fairness.

The Fellowship Award will consist of a certificate suitable for framing, and will be presented at the annual CIM Convention.

With the Fellowship Award, CIM recognizes many of its distinguished members for their achievements and contributions. 

The CIM Fellowship criteria and other information:

  1.  Candidates shall have a minimum of ten (10) years of current, continuous CIM National membership. The following criteria shall be considered in the selection of CIM Fellows:

    (a) Contributions to CIM;

    (b) Contributions to the mining, metallurgical and petroleum industry;

    (c) Contributions to society and humanity;

    (d) Contributions to education;

    (e) Special distinction (awards, honours previously received);

    (f) Other significant contributions.

  2. A citation not to exceed 15 words shall appear on the Nomination Form.
  3. Nominees must be CIM National Members.
  4. No posthumous Fellow nominations shall be considered.
  5. Fellow membership for any individual shall not remain in effect unless his/her membership is in force.



Dave Mackintosh

Dave Mackintosh has just passed 50 years in the potash mining industry where he started as a rock mechanics technician in 1969 for Cominco (Agrium, now Nutrien). His supervisor at the time was Jim Popowich, past president of CIM. He remained as a technician for a number of years, and became a local authority. He finally finished his geology degree at the University of Saskatchewan in 1985, and after 26 years with Cominco, formed ADM Consulting Limited in 1996. Since then, he has been fortunate to work on projects in Thailand, Europe, Britain and throughout North and South America.


Joël Kapusta

Dr. Joël Kapusta joined BBA in 2010 with a BSc in applied geology, a Master of Science in mineral processing, and a Ph.D. in process metallurgy. With more than 30 years of experience, Dr. Kapusta specializes in extractive metallurgy of nonferrous and precious metals and is a key developer and promoter of sonic injection in bath smelting, converting, and refining. He also has experience in mineral processing, hydrometallurgy, and the production and optimum utilization of industrial gases in metallurgical plants. 

He has been actively involved in applied R&D, technology development and implementation, plant audits and process optimization, as well as techno-economic feasibility evaluation, technical due diligence and risk assessment. Dr. Kapusta was president of the Metallurgical and Materials Society (METSOC) of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum in 2007-2008 and chairman of the board in 2008-2009. He also was a member of the council of the Extraction and Processing Division of the Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS) of the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers in 2006-2007 as chair of the Copper, Nickel and Cobalt Committee. Dr. Kapusta has organized or co-organized several symposia for both METSOC and TMS. More recently, he was chair of the 50th Conference of Metallurgists anniversary celebrations in 2011 in Montreal and chairman of Copper 2019, the 10th Edition of the Copper International Conference in Vancouver.