CIM Community Service Award

To recognize "Unsung Heroes" of the mining industry and CIM

Origins & Conditions


The CIM Council, at its March 1983 meeting, accepted Coopers & Lybrand Consulting Group’s (now PricewaterhouseCoopers) offer to sponsor a special award to be called the Members Award (now the CIM Community Service Award) which is to be presented on an annual basis (provided a suitable candidate has been nominated) to one of the "Unsung Heroes" of the mining industry. 

The CIM Community Service Award may be presented to a CIM National Member who meets the following criteria:

  1. Presented to one of the “Unsung Heroes” of the mining industry who has fully given time to several aspects of community service and support.
  2. The award may be presented from time to time as circumstances warrant, but not more than one award shall be made in any given year.
  3. Nominations for the award shall be made over the signatures of at least ten (10) CIM national members.
  4. Each nomination shall be accompanied by a statement clearly stating the reasons that make the nominee a suitable candidate for the award.
  5. The nominations shall be submitted to a committee composed of the six (6) CIM District Vice-Presidents and chaired by the CIM Executive Director for review and selection of the winning candidate.
  6. Their recommendation shall be reported to CIM Council not later than the last Council meeting held prior to the next annual CIM Convention.
  7. The members of the committee shall not be party to the nomination of any candidate.
  8. When reasonably possible, the recipient shall be expected to receive the Medal in person during the course of the CIM Convention following the announcement of the award, or at such a time or place as CIM Council may direct.
  9. All nominations properly presented shall remain in good standing for a period of three (3) years unless formally withdrawn over the signatures of a majority of members responsible for the nomination.
  10. Nominees must be CIM National Members.



Kim Bittman

Kim Bittman has spent the last 36 years of her career as an environmental professional that supports the mining community, beginning in Tumbler Ridge, BC and thereafter in Vancouver at mine corporate offices and as president of her own consulting firm. Early in her career as the manager of the environmental department at an open-pit coal mine, she became keenly interested in mine reclamation and sustainability issues. This in turn led me to be a member of many committees where she wished to focus on her strong belief that mining can be successfully reclaimed to restore pre-mining biodiversity and Community/First Nation land use desires. She has been a long-time member and honorary member/webmaster of the BC Technical and Research Committee on Reclamation (TRCR). She was vice-chair of the Land Access and Use Committee of AMEBC until 2019 and is currently serving as an executive of the CIM Environmental and Social Responsibility Society.


John Thompson

John Thompson has been dividing his time between Cornell University, where he has been the Wold Professor of Environmental Balance for Human Sustainability, and Vancouver, BC where he consults on exploration, mining and sustainability. He has worked in the mining industry and related research for 35 years, including chief geoscientist and vice president of technology and development for Teck Resources, and director of the Mineral Deposit Research Unit at the University of British Columbia. He has had diverse leadership roles in many organizations – as chair for Resources for Future Generations 2018; chair, Genome BC; past-president of the Society of Economic Geologists; co-founder and chair of Geoscience BC; co-founder and chair, of the Canada Mining Innovation Council; and member of two councils for the World Economic Forum. He is on the boards of exploration and technology companies, and advisory groups for venture capital, clean technology and sustainability.