Mining Safety Leadership Medal Award



1. The Mining Safety Leadership Award is bestowed for exceptional contribution towards improving health and safety within the mining industry, recognizing either an innovative initiative and/or achievement, or consistent achievements, over an extended period (at least three years).
2. The award shall be presented annually and preference shall be given to an individual or organization who/that has not previously been recognized or received awards related to this area, especially within CIM.
3. Nominations for the award shall be accompanied by signatures from at least ten (10) CIM national members.
4. Each nomination is to be accompanied by a statement (no more than 500 words) clearly outlining the achievements and qualifications of the nominee.
5. Adjudication of the award shall be undertaken by the Awards Committee of the CIM Safety Committee. This committee will consist of up to seven (7) members including:

  • Award champion: the CIM Safety Committee chair and/or designated committee member representative. This person will manage the receipt and review of nominations, help identify judges, etc.
  • Past recipient of the award
  • Members from at least three (3) societies (chair or designate)
6. The Committee shall designate a recipient from among the nominees for presentation to CIM Council, no later than the last Council meeting held prior to the annual CIM Convention.
7. The award shall be presented at the CIM Convention.
8. All nominations properly presented shall remain in good standing for a period of three (3) years unless formally withdrawn as indicated by the signatures of a majority of members responsible for the nomination
9. Nominees must be CIM National Members.