August 2011

Recognizing industry's finest

2011 CIM award winners

CIM is proud to offer a distinguished list of awards and honours that recognize excellence in the industry. As always, the nominations are numerous and choosing the winners from among many qualified and talented candidates is a challenging, but rewarding undertaking for the judges in each sector. The following is a list of this year’s winners.

John T. Ryan Trophies

These trophies are awarded by Mine Safety Appliances Canada Limited as a memorial to the founder of the company. The national awards are presented to the metalliferous mine, the select mine and the coal mine that in the previous year experienced the lowest reportable injury frequency per 200,000 hours worked in Canada.

• Canada Trophy for Metal Mines

Vale, T-1 Mine, Thompson, MB

Vale, Birchtree Mine, Thompson, MB

• Canada Trophy for Select Mines

CGC Inc., Windsor Plant, Windsor, NS

• Canada Trophy for Coal Mines

Teck Coal Limited, Coal Mountain, Sparwood, BC

Mel W. Bartley Award

This award is presented by the CIM Thunder Bay Branch to a CIM branch demonstrating the most effective progress in reaching the aims and objectives of the Institute.

• CIM Saskatoon Branch, Saskatoon, SK

Syncrude Award for Excellence in Sustainable Development

This award recognizes extraordinary systems, programs or processes that have far-reaching and positive sustainability effects in all industry sectors across Canada. It acknowledges those individuals, communities, organizations, corporations or academics working to create economic wealth while mitigating environmental impacts and acting inclusively towards all segments of society.

• James P. Cooney, Vancouver, BC

• IAMGOLD Corporation, Toronto, ON

CIM Distinguished Lecturers

Distinguished Lecturers are chosen on the basis of their accomplishments in scientific, technical, management or educational activities related to the minerals industry, and speak at CIM branch meetings across the country.

Klaus Kacy, Westbank, BC • Barbara Kirby, Ottawa, ON • Bernhard Klein, Vancouver, BC • A. Hamid Mumin, Brandon, MB • Jim Utley, Vancouver, BC • William Westgate, Saint Paul, MN, USA

CIM-Bedford Canadian Young Mining Leaders Awards

To encourage and accelerate the development of leadership in Canadian mining, this award recognizes the outstanding achievement and potential of young Canadian leaders 39 years of age and under, in various sectors of mining from around the world.

David Anonychuk, Dubai, UAE • Mark A. Eichhorn, Oakville, ON • Chad S. Hiley, Toronto, ON • Ryan Montpellier, Kanata, ON

District 3 Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes an Institute member for exceptional contributions to the development of the industry and CIM at the local level.

• David G. C. Clarry, Toronto, ON

Metal Mining Society Award

This award was established to recognize outstanding achievement or contribution in the field of mining engineering.

• Awarded to the Canadian companies and individuals involved in the successful rescue operation of the Chilean miners.

Barlow Memorial Medal

This prize is given to the author of the best paper on economic geology, published by the Institute in any year.

• Michael D. Doggett, Vancouver, BC

• Richard A. Leveille, Phoenix, AZ, USA

McParland Memorial Award

This award was established to recognize outstanding performance in the minerals industry in the field of mechanical, electrical or civil engineering design, general plant design, project engineering and/or management of mine plants.

• George Delorme, Montreal, QC

Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award

This award is given to a member of the Institute in good standing who has made a significant contribution in the mineral economics field in Canada.

• Pierre Lassonde, Toronto, ON

Julian Boldy Memorial Award

This award commemorates the outstanding contributions of the late Julian Boldy and recognizes exceptional service to the CIM Geological Society.

• Daniel Brisbin, Saskatoon, SK

Coal Award

This award honours the CIM members who have made outstanding contributions to the coal industry of Canada and who have also been long-standing, active participants in the CIM Coal and Industrial Minerals Society.

• David Fawcett, Vancouver, BC

J.C. Sproule Memorial Plaque

This plaque recognizes distinguished contributions to the exploration and development of Canada’s mineral resources in the northern regions.

• Douglas Bryan, Coldstream, BC

A. O. Dufresne Award

This award recognizes exceptional achievement or distinguished contributions to mining exploration in Canada.

• David J. Copeland, Vancouver, BC

Past Presidents’ Memorial Medal

This award is presented to a person 45 years of age or younger, who, by his or her accomplishments, has set an outstanding example to young CIM members or youth contemplating a career in the minerals industry.

• Steve Piercey, St. John’s, NL

Members Award

PricewaterhouseCoopers Consulting Group sponsors this award, which is presented to one of the “unsung heroes” of the mining industry who has fully given time to several aspects of community service and support.

• Gordon E. Morris, Edmonton, AB

Selwyn G. Blaylock Medal

This medal is awarded for distinguished service to Canada through exceptional achievements in the field of mining, metallurgy or geology.

• John W. Chisholm, Antigonish, NS

Vale Medal

This medal is presented as a mark of distinction and recognition for a meritorious and practical contribution of outstanding importance to the mining and metallurgical industry of Canada.

• Mackenzie I. Watson, Montreal, QC

CIM Distinguished Service Medal


This gold medal recognizes exceptional service to the Institute and the mineral industry that is not necessarily technical or scientific.

• Tim Grain Joseph, St. Albert, AB

CIM Fellowships


This honour recognizes members who have distinguished themselves through outstanding contributions to the mining, metallurgical and petroleum industries. A CIM Fellow may place “FCIM” after his or her name when deemed appropriate.

James F. Archibald, Kingston, ON • John D. Cairns, Saskatoon, SK • Glenn R. Clark, Cobourg, ON • Douglas Milne, Saskatoon, SK • Joseph P. Ringwald, Vancouver, BC • Torstein Utigard, Toronto, ON • Donald J. Worth, Toronto, ON • Janice Zinck, Ottawa, ON

Fifty-Year Club

To mark the Institute’s Diamond Jubilee in 1958, the CIM Council inaugurated the Fifty-Year Club to which members could be elected as a mark of distinction for their long service.

Charles Aird, Vancouver, BC • Brian E. Backler, Campbell River, BC • John F. Barker, Sudbury, ON • Arthur W. Brown, North Vancouver, BC • Robert Bryce, Val-d’Or, QC • Alfons Buzas, Bathurst, NB • J. Douglas Carnahan, Vancouver, BC • George E. Davies, North Vancouver, BC • Robert M. Giegerich, Amherstburg, ON • Timothy Godfrey, Calgary, AB • R. Michael Gray, Gravenhurst, ON • Peter W. Green, Kelowna, BC • Bernt Rag Honeth, Sandton, South Africa • Donald J. Hosking, New Liskeard, ON • Douglas F. Irving, Albuquerque, NM, USA • Edmond A. Justen, Montreal, QC • Wray Koepke, Brighton, ON • John A. Logan, Middle Musquodoboit, NS • Wilfred A. Lyons, Buenos Aires, Argentina • John Mullins, Toronto, ON • Robin A. J. T. Oram, Santa Barbara De Nexe, Portugal • Robert H. Richards, Toronto, ON • Rudolf M. Rucker, Nipissing, ON • Cory V. Sibbald, Vancouver, BC • Desh B. Sikka, Montreal, QC • Louis L. Sirois, Woodlawn, ON • Charles H. Smallwood, Elliot Lake, ON • Vernon E. Smith, Chilliwack, BC • Lawrence J. Stoddart, Kingston, ON • R. B. Stokes, West Vancouver, BC • Harvey L. Sweetman, Henderson, NV, USA • Richard M. Williams, Kanata, ON • W. M. Williams, Westmount, QC • Joseph E. Worthington, Evergreen, CO, USA • William V. Youdelis, Windsor, ON

Post a comment


PDF Version