Sept/Oct 2009

Going strong at 122

The Mining Society of Nova Scotia holds its 122nd AGM

By F. Sigut


Gordon Dickie congratulates Bob MacDonald, the new president of The Mining Society of Nova Scotia.

The Mining Society of Nova Scotia (MSNS) has the distinction of being the oldest formally organized mining association in Canada. Starting out as the Gold Miners Club in 1887, the society has been affiliated with CIM since 1918.

The 122nd annual general meeting of MSNS, chaired by its president, Gordon Dickie, was held from June 4 to 6, 2009, in Dundee, Nova Scotia. During the AGM, council elections were held, the annual financial report was presented by secretary-treasurer George Sigut, and a report on the Fletcher Fairbault Memorial Fund was tabled. As well, a minute of silence was observed in memory of Gerald Logan, his wife Abigail and all deceased members of the society.

In addition to conducting the society’s business, a major objective of every MSNS AGM is knowledge-sharing through technical presentations. This year’s technical program chair, Dan McLeod (who is also the society’s second vice-president), with the help of incoming president Bob MacDonald, put together an excellent technical program under the theme “Economic/ Social Challenges — Mining Our Way Forward with Innovation.”

Three sessions — Mining Operations From Cradle to Grave, Industry Service Providers’ Innovative Approaches, and Atlantic Canada’s Mining Opportunities — included over a dozen presentations on cutting-edge applications, emerging trends and new developments on the technical, operational, investment and human resources fronts. The technical sessions were followed by a panel discussion moderated by David Forrester.

The highlight of the meeting was the Thursday evening awards dinner where, over a sumptuous banquet and amid great pomp and circumstance, homage was paid to the year’s outstanding achievers. Bob MacDonald and Alan Davidson were awarded the 2009 CIM Fellowships. Shane MacLeod, a representative of the legendary choral ensemble, The Men of the Deeps, was presented with a CIM Special Recognition award for his group’s contribution to preserving and popularizing the cultural heritage of the mining industry.

The students’ Centennial Scholarship Medals were awarded to David Walker (Dalhousie University, mining engineering), Ryan Kennedy (St. Francis Xavier University, geology) and Cheley Fougere (Acadia University, geology). Adam Doyle, who is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in materials engineering, won the Donald MacFadgen Memorial Scholarship for 2008. Sam Schwartz and Fenton Isenor, both of Sydney, Nova Scotia, won the Mining Society Medal and the President’s Citation, respectively.

Among the dignitaries who spoke at the conference were Peter Underwood, Nova Scotia’s Deputy Minister of Natural Resources, and CIM past president Jim Popowich.

A full list of the newly elected office bearers will be available shortly on the MSNS website.

Post a comment


PDF Version