Dec '06/Jan '07

New Brunswick Branch news

Top Photo: CIM Distinguished Lecturers (L-R Paul Rennick (branch chairman), Tim Skinner (DL), Wayne Hickey (technical chairman), Gordon Peeling (DL), and Ryan Montpellier (DL)

Students meet industry in New Brunswick

On Thursday, October 5, the New Brunswick Branch had approximately 25 students and a dozen alumni and friends of University of New Brunswick Geology attend the CIM Student-Industry Meet & Greet at UNB Geology (Fredericton, NB), with the CIM branch pitching in for pizza and pop. Paul Rennick (NB CIM president 2005-2007) gave a great presentation on the role CIM national and the branch play in professional development and networking. Rennick (NB DNR-Minerals staff) is an alumni, having graduated with his B.Sc. in 1982. At the end of the mixer, Andy Cormier, vice president, CIM District 1 and NB Coal superintendent for NB Power, announced that NB Coal will donate the popular book, Gesner’s Dream, authored by Gwen Martin (local author and geoscientist), to every student attending this event. The branch contributes $2,000 to the annual NB student geoscience scholarship program which has benefited many students. The branch is very appreciative of Rennick’s taking the time to share CIM news, and also of Professor David Lentz for organizing the event and making sure the pizzas arrived on time.

Event of the year

The New Brunswick Branch held its annual general meeting on November 6, 2006 at the Delta Hotel in Fredericton. There were 28 in attendance, including District 1 Vice President Andy Cormier and CIM Distinguished Lecturers Tim Skinner, Gordon Peeling, and Ryan Montpellier.

During the meeting, Malcolm McLeod was presented with the W.J. Wright Award for significant contributions to the province in the field of geology. Also, Kristy-Lee Beal of Moncton was awarded a $2,000 scholarship to continue her studies at UNB.

The current executive for the branch was re-elected and a new board of directors was approved. The executive and board of directors for 2007 will be as follows:

  • Chairman – Paul Rennick
  • Vice Chairman – Jean LeBlanc
  • Treasurer – Patrick LeBlanc
  • Secretary – Rory Kempster
  • Past Chairman – Sam McEwan
  • Directors – Wayne Hickey, Dave Lentz, Ron Toivenen, Michele Coleman, Dustin Ceretti, Ron Phillips, unnamed PCS representative, and unnamed Xstrata representative. Garth Graves was also nominated and subsequently approved as a director from the floor.

Following the meeting, Distinguished Lecturer Ryan Montpellier gave his presentation titled “Prospecting the Future: Meeting Human Resources Challenges in the Canadian Minerals and Metals Industry.”

Post a comment


PDF Version