August 2008

A passion for science

By S. Clark

The CIM Hamilton Branch held its final evening for the 2007-2008 program year on May 22, with featured guest speaker Juergen G. Schachler, president and CEO, ArcelorMittal Dofasco Inc.  The evening’s meeting was dedicated to one of the branch’s founding members, F. John McMulkin, who passed away earlier this year.

The three CIM Hamilton Branch  award winners — Scott Cameron, Alan Stagg and Michelle Reid —  from the local Bay Area Science and Engineering Fair were on hand to show their displays and answer questions.  The branch has been an active sponsor of BASEF for over 15 years and provides two prizes for projects in the Materials Science category.

The fourth winner, Erica Szymkiewicz, was the recipient of a Nelson Steel Award.  Nelson Steel is a valued corporate sponsor that celebrates the accomplishments of their winners by inviting them to this annual event.

Post a comment


PDF Version