August 2007

Student awards


From left to right: Rock Gagnon, Philippe F. Morissette, Olivier Blackburn, Jean-François Montreuil and Frédéric Fleury

Forty-two people took part in the Quebec Branch annual student gathering held on March 19. Four students gave presentations on their work terms and end-of-term projects, which were judged by a panel of industry professionals. The Quebec Branch awarded $1,000 in prizes to:

First prizes - Philippe F. Morissette, mining and mineral engineering student, and Olivier Blackburn, materials and metallurgical engineering student.

Second prizes - Jean-François Montreuil, geological engineering student, and Frédéric Fleury, geology student.

The SOQUEM prize was also handed out. The winning team, composed of Tania Doucet, Frédéric Fleury, Thomas Fournier, Moussa Tine and Véronique Villeneuve, also gave a presentation.

The evening was sponsored by Agnico-Eagle, the Quebec Mining Association, Carrières Polycor, COREM, Gestion SODEMEX inc., Instrumentation GDD inc., and Mines Virginia.

Post a comment


PDF Version