November 2009

Northern branch back in action

The Yellowknife Branch reinvigorates itself with a barbeque and a golf tournament

By J. Heimbach


Geologist Hendrik Falck, NAPEG vice-president and long-time Yellowknife president, on the course

The CIM Yellowknife Branch has emerged anew after a long hibernation, with a new executive and a fun golf tournament. The winds and the spirits were high at the branch’s first annual golf tournament held last August. About 40 golfers braved cold blustery weather and just a few bugs on nine holes of the all-sand-and-rock course. Fittingly, the winning round was scored by the tournament’s principal sponsor, Miles Safranovich, COO of Nuna Logistics, who arrived from Edmonton just in time to tee off.

The golf was followed by a family barbeque in the clubhouse and a charity putting tournament, sponsored by Atlas Copco. The putting tourney funds were donated to the Yellowknife Women’s Shelter. The event proved to be a great kick-off for the reborn branch, with good representation from industry, government and suppliers.

The short-term goal for the Yellowknife Branch is to host two presentations from the Distinguished Lecturer series and to collaborate with the Northwest Territories and Nunavut Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientist (NAPEG), the Geological Association of Canada (GAC) and the Mining Association of Canada (MAC).

The last event sponsored by the branch was a short course on gold, led by David Lentz and held in conjunction with last November’s Geoscience Forum. “That will be a hard act to follow,” says Shannon Campbell, the branch’s new chairman. “Running an organization like this in a smaller community can be challenging because of the limited membership base. The events have to be high quality and of high interest to be successful. In Yellowknife, we’re up to the challenge with our new executive and new approach — partnerships with like-minded groups who have similar purposes and goals. We need to help each other to be successful.”

Joe Heimbach is the social chair of the Yellowknife Branch.

Post a comment


PDF Version