Mineral Resources Mineral Reserves Committee (MRMR)

On September 9, 2017, CIM Council approved the combination of two current CIM committees (CIM Standing Committee on Reserve Definitions and CIM Best Practices Committee) to form one new committee named Mineral Resource and Mineral Reserve Committee (MRMR). The mandate of MRMR Committee is to keep abreast of changes and advances in international MRMR classification, definition and reporting and recommend changes to the Standards as required; to maintain and update Standards; to undertake a program of industry and CIM member consultation prior to submitting definitions to CIM Council for approval; to provide a conduit between the industry, the CIM and the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) for dealing with comments, questions and issues arising out of the use of the Standards and including leading practice guidelines; to facilitate, in conjunction with the CSA, the incorporation of the changes to the Standards into NI 43-101; to continue representing the CIM and Canada on the Committee for Mineral Reserve International Reporting Standards (“CRIRSCO”) and to keep current CIM best practice guidelines.   


Current members of the Committee include:

  • Deborah McCombe, RPA Inc. – Co-Chair
  • Garth Kirkham, Kirkham Geosystems – Co-Chair
  • Normand Champigny, Sphinx Resources
  • David Eden, Kinross
  • Hendrik Falck, Northwest Territories Geological Survey
  • Greg Gosson, Wood
  • Angela Hamlyn, CIM
  • Kevin Palmer, Teck Alaska Incorporated
  • Reno Pressacco, RPA Inc.
  • John Postle, retired
  • Tomasz Postolski, Goldcorp
  • Joe Ringwald, ScoZinc Mining Limited