Special Committee on the Valuation of Mineral Properties (CIMVAL)

On May 5, 1999, CIM Council approved the formation of a Special Committee on Valuation of Mineral Properties (CIMVal). The mandate of CIMVal is to recommend Standards and Guidelines for Valuation of Mineral Properties to be used by the mining industry in general and to be adopted by Canadian securities regulators and Canadian stock exchanges. The committee’s guiding philosophy and intent is that mineral property valuations be carried out by appropriately qualified individuals and that all relevant information be fully disclosed.

Committee members


  • Keith Spence, Global Mining Capital Corp.
  • William Roscoe, RPA Inc.


  • Eden Oliver, Bennett Jones LLP


  • Derek Melo, KPMG;
  • Michael Fowler, Loewen, Ondaatje, McCutcheon Ltd.;
  • David Scott, CIBC;
  • Michael Samis, Ernst & Young;
  • Marc Legault, Agnico-Eagle Mines;
  • Pat Stephenson, AMC Consultants;
  • Bruce McKnight, Minerals Advisory Services

IMVAL and CIMVAL updates