CIM Saskatoon Uranium Night

  • Dates:
    Feb 16, 2017
  • Hours:
    From 7:00 PM to 10:00 PM
  • Location:
    Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel

Contact Information

Tara Stratton
Event has already ended

Event Detail

We look forward to your attendance, this is our last formal event of our season.

Doors open at: 6:15pm

Supper: 7:00pm

Technical Presenation: 8:00pm

Speaker Bio: Lorne Schwartz, P.Eng.

Lorne Schwartz is a Senior Engineering Specialist at Amec Foster Wheeler in Saskatoon. He is a process engineer specializing in uranium, with experience in other commodities such as potash, rare earth elements and base metals. Prior to joining Amec Foster Wheeler, Lorne worked in consulting for Hatch, head office for Cameco, and operations for Cameco, AREVA and Teck. He lectured an “Introduction to Mineral Processing” course at University of Saskatchewan for several years, leading to the recent establishment of a mineral processing option in the department of Chemical Engineering.

Lorne has a B.Sc. Metallurgical Engineering from University of Alberta. He is a P.Eng. registered with the Association for Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Saskatchewan (APEGS). He currently volunteers as the Saskatchewan region representative for the Canadian Mineral Processors Society of the CIM, and organizes its annual regional technical conference.

Presentation: Potash and Uranium in Saskatchewan – Two Trains of Thought

Saskatchewan hosts world class production of both uranium and potash, and Saskatoon provides a key base of support for both industries. With such fertile ground for radiating know-how, why does it seem that there is so little crossover of mineral processing expertise and technology from one commodity to the other? The trains of thought behind design and operation of Saskatchewan uranium and potash are compared and contrasted.

Register to the event here

The CIM Saskatoon Membership is now due, click here to renew online now.

NOTE: The registration will close at NOON on Tuesday, February 14, 2017 – No exceptions.

Annual membership dues are $30 (to be paid at the first meeting you attend) and a technical meeting fee of $30 will also be charged to cover the cost of the meal; students pay $10 per attendee.