CIM's gems sparkle at annual awards gala

awards gala

More than 500 of Canada’s brightest mining stars gathered for the 2013 CIM Awards Gala last night.

“We are here tonight to celebrate the true leaders of the Canadian mining industry – the men and women who are making a difference in our industry – something we, as Canadians, do not do often enough,” said outgoing president, Terence Bowles, at the black-tie event.

Bowles handed out CIM fellowship plaques and recognized 50-year CIM members. He also announced CIM’s Distinguished Lecturer awards. The John T. Ryan safety trophies, special recognition and various other national awards were also presented over the course of the evening.

Talk show host and gala emcee Mike Bullard warmed up the crowd for the Jersey Kid and the Gemtones, who capped off the show with classic American hits. The gala also included a silent auction, with proceeds split between the education initiative, Mining 4 Society, and the Canadian Mining and Metallurgical Foundation.

The full list of 2013 CIM Award Winners:

John T. Ryan Trophy, Canada Trophy for Metal Mines: Xstrata Copper, Kidd Operations, Timmins, ON

John T. Ryan Trophy, Canada Trophy for Select Mines: Potash Corporation New Brunswick Division, Sussex, NB

John T. Ryan Trophy, Canada Trophy for Coal Mines: Prairie Mines & Royalty Ltd. Genesee Mine, Warburg, AB

Hatch-CIM Mining & Minerals Project Development Safety Award: Endako Mines Expansion Project – Thompson Creek Metals, B.C.

Mel W. Bartley Award: North Central B.C. Branch, Prince George, B.C.

Syncrude Award for Excellence in Sustainable Development: Gordon Peeling, Odd Rocks Enterprise, Ottawa, ON

CIM Distinguished Lecturers

CIM-Bedford Canadian Young Mining Leaders Awards

Special Recognition: Peter McBride, Ontario Mining Association, North York, ON

District Distinguished Service Award: Shannon Clark, ArcelorMittal Dofasco, Hamilton, ON

Underground Mining Society Award: Anthony George, Lucara Diamond Corporation, Vancouver, B.C.

Barlow Memorial Medal

  • Oliver Rabeau, Ministry of Natural Resources of Quebec, Quebec City, QC
  • Marc Legault, CÉGEP Abitibi-Témiscamingue, Rouyn-Noranda, QC
  • Alain Cheilletz, École Nationale Supérieure de Géologie, Université de Lorraine, Nancy, France
  • Michel Jébrak, Université du Québec à Montréal, Montreal, QC
  • Jean-Jacques Royer, École Nationale Supérieure de Géologie, Université de Lorraine, Nancy, France
  • Li Zhen Cheng, Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue, Rouyn-Noranda, QC

Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award: Michael Samis, Ernst & Young, Toronto, ON

Julian Boldy Memorial Award: Jason Dunning, Alamos Gold Inc., Toronto, ON

J.C. Sproule Memorial Plaque: Hendrik Falck, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, Yellowknife, N.W.T.

Past Presidents Memorial Medal: James Siddorn, SRK Consulting, Toronto, ON

Members Award: Roxanne Kneer, CIM Sudbury Branch, Lively, ON

Vale Medal: Jon Baird, Camese, Goodwood, ON

CIM Distinguished Service Medal: Chuck Edwards, AMEC, Saskatoon, SK

Medal for Bravery: John Cerne, Foraco Canada Western Division, Kamloops, B.C.

CIM Fellowships

  • Charles E. (Ted) Knight, Vancouver, B.C.
  • C. Ravi Ravindran, Ancaster, ON
  • Dominic Fragomeni, Falconbridge, ON
  • Peter Kondos, Toronto, ON
  • Vladimiros Papangelakis, Toronto, ON
  • Priti Wanjara, Montreal, QC
  • Noel Cleland, Canmore, AB
  • Peter V. Young, Portugal Cove-St. Phillips, NL
  • Steven W. Harapiak, Burlington, ON
  • Lindsay Milne, Calgary AB
  • D. Anton, Calgary, AB
  • Rex V. Gibbons, St. John, NL
  • Soheil Asgarpour, Calgary, AB
  • Russell Hallbauer, Vancouver, B.C.
  • François Pelletier, Boucherville, QC
  • James K. Gowans, Toronto, ON

Fifty-Year Club

  • William Allan, Oakville, ON
  • John F. Anderson, Henderson, NV
  • Cass Atkinson, Stratford, ON
  • P. A. Bevan, Mississauga, ON
  • John G. Brady, Ottawa, ON
  • J. H. Hall Chamberlin, Campbell River, B.C.
  • Donald A. Cranstone, Smiths Falls, ON
  • James Peter Davies, Malibu, CA
  • Gavin Ewan Dirom, North Vancouver, B.C.
  • A. Darryl Drummond, Vancouver, B.C.
  • William B. Dunlop, Winnipeg, MB
  • George H. Espley, Pickering, ON
  • Walter Fell, Sudbury, ON
  • Édouard Gervais, Lorraine, QC
  • Cyril E. Leonoff, Vancouver, B.C.
  • Terrence N. Macauley, Vancouver, B.C.
  • Robert A. MacGregor, Sault Ste. Marie, ON
  • H. E. Neal, Toronto, ON
  • Fritz F. Prugger, La Antilla, Spain   
  • Alastair J. Sinclair, Vancouver, B.C.  
  • Barton A. Thomson, Beaverton, ON
  • Jean-Paul Vinet, Saint-Alphonse-de-Rodriguez, QC
  • Alan R. Watt, Richmond, B.C.
  • Umetaro Yamaguchi, Tokyo, Japan